Following my running ambitions

Going back to the Olympic stadium

London 2012 was one of the highlights of last year in my eyes, and even though I only had the chance to go into the park, the atmosphere was amazing.

So earlier this year when I heard I could return to the stadium this time as a competitor, I couldn’t resist turning down the opportunity to run on the same track that Mo Farah, Jessica Ennis, David Weir and Usain Bolt have all competed on.

Me in the Olympic stadium

Therefore, earlier in July (sorry for the late posting!), I took part in the National Lottery Anniversary Run – a 5 mile run around the park that ends on the running track inside the stadium.

To have the opportunity to run on the same track that Mo Farah, Jessica Ennis, David Weir and Usain Bolt have all competed on was just too good to turn down!

The Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park (as it’s now named) is undergoing a lot of redevelopment as the various stadia get changed or moved for other uses; as a result it felt like some of the run was going through a building site.

But even though much of the park was fenced off, the main landmarks of the Velodrome, Aquatics Centre, Orbit and of course the Athletics Stadium itself were still recognisable.

The race started a short jaunt away from the stadium, opposite what was the Athletes Village, and is currently being redeveloped to become nearly 3000 homes in Newham.

With nearly 12,000 runners, it was the biggest race I’ve taken part in, with starters split into one of four waves to try and keep runners of similar times together.

I was in the white wave, which went off second – enough to get excited about seeing the first runners head off on the big screens, but without getting nervous about my own race.

As our wave approached Sir Chris Hoy and the start, I tried to find some room – which is pretty difficult with thousands of runners around you!

In fact, with it being a five mile race, I never got fully comfortable and in my own personal space, but with a race like this, I wasn’t looking for a fast time. I was just looking to enjoy myself.

The route

The first mile headed to where the Basketball Arena was before looping around the Velodrome, where I ran alongside Hanley parkrun director Liz Tideswell.

There were certainly a spring in my step as I ran along paths that I’d used 12 months beforehand to watch sporting heroes – and I was probably doing as much weaving around other people as I did that day in July!

The route passed where the Wireless Festival had taken place a week beforehand, and crews were still there dismantling staging, taking breaks to cheer on the runners.

I then headed toward where the Riverbank Arena was, the vibrant blue and pink astroturf that’s been moved to Eton Manor.

It was then onwards past the former broadcast centre, a huge building for 20,000 journalists which is now partly being used as the home for BT Sport, and to the second mile marker and the Copper Box.

What really isn’t obvious about the park unless you’ve visited is the amount of elevation change; something that isn’t that noticeable when you’re walking you certainly feel when you’re running!

And while others were starting to wane, I pushed on, determined to keep my head up and take in the sights.

The third mile headed around the perimeter of the park, showing just how close both the borough of Newham and Stratford station are.

It was then a quick visit to the Orbit tower before turning round and heading back towards the stadium, which had been ever present on the skyline on the whole run.

When I saw mile marker number four, I knew that majority of the race had been completed, the most important bit was just about to arrive.

Inside the stadium

The view inside the stadium
The final 300 metres of the race were on the running track, but first I needed to get to it from outside.

That involved using the vehicular access point, and just as I managed to get a glimpse of the running track, the route took me down through the tunnel that runs around the base of the stadium.

As if that anticipation couldn’t get even greater, the organisers were playing Chariots of Fire, complete with commentary from Mo Farah’s gold medal winning 5,000m race.

That was nothing though compared to the bright light that greeted me as I entered the stadium, and the roar of around 30,000 spectators.

They included my parents and boyfriend, and while they might not have seen much of the park, they certainly had a good view of the running track.

It meant so much to have them there as none of them have seen me race. Running can be such a lonely sport, but this was a moment I wanted to treasure with them.

Once I’d picked my jaw up from the floor, I made the most of that final 300 metres, waving to as many people I could see in the crowd.

But I couldn’t resist having a sprint finish; I’m no Bolt, but when would I have this kind of opportunity again?

So, in the little used Lane 1, Hill representing Great Britain stretched his legs out and powered towards the finish line to be greeted with huge cheers both from the crowd and Paula Radcliffe who was about to do an interview.

This photo was taken not long after I finished – can you spot me on the far right of the frame?

The finish line

Final thoughts

I’d said my time wasn’t important, but I’d needed to give my parents and boyfriend an idea of when I’d be entering the stadium, so they could keep an eye out for me.

I’d told them I’d try to run it in around 40 minutes, which turned out to be exactly my time (2,368th!) – pretty impressive judgement and running!

Using the post-run goody bag

Entry into the race cost £25, which on the face of it is pretty steep at £5 per mile; the Potters ‘Arf is over two and a half times the distance for less cost.

But included is a decent technical T-shirt and a goody bag, which included finishers’ medal, some post-run crisps & pistachio nuts, cracked foot cream and a foil blanket, which of course I needed to wear!

Plus of course, there was the ability to take two guests in with me (I was fortunate to be able to use someone else’s wristband for a third person) and the chance to run where so many dreams were made last summer.

And once I’d finished, there was the chance to rejoin my family and see other runners cross the finish line, many of whom were running, walking or wheeling five miles for the first time.

It wouldn’t be a race I take part in every year (as Camelot want to make happen), but based on the experience, I’d certainly go back to the stadium one more time.

Photos by Tom Hayes and the National Lottery.

One response

  1. Have to admit, I was gutted to miss out on this opportunity. I’d love to be able to do it – hopefully some sort of deal will be able to agreed upon for it to be an annual event.

    Or, maybe, for it to be part of the London Marathon, or a new 10k route..?

    Thursday 08 August 2013 at 1000 GMT+0000

Leave a comment